Greswolde Arms Hotel - Knowle

Pub, Bars and Pubs, Family Restaurant, Function Room Facility, Hotel, Restaurant, Vacances, Western Food



1657 High St, Knowle, Solihull B93 0LL

+44 1564 772711




Based on 160 reviews.


Agregated reviews (160) Greswolde Arms Hotel - Knowle

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Twice I've been here in the past couple of weeks. My kids live walking distance away, that's why... plus the fact they take the Gourmet Society Card and do 25% off.

Twice we've had to experience waiting for 40 minutes to get our food after ordering. Twice I've had the kids crawling up the wall hungry and frustrated. The situation is the same... too many punters compared to not enough waiting staff, and I can only conclude there is not enough people on in the kitchen.

Last time I ordered cod and chips... Came to me after 40 minutes, looking the part... Knife and fork went into the middle of the fish... raw. Sod it, I'll make myself a chip butty with the optional upgrade of bread and butter... Sod it, butter \\u003d frozen. Sent the lot back... Offered 'any replacement' - 'What, wait another 40 minutes? Sorry these kids have got school tomorrow.' Turned tail and left immediately.

1 by Nicholas Moore Review source

I would describe the Greswolde Arms as distinctly average. The interior of the pub is a bit soul-less in the way you'd expect of any chain pub (Chef and Brewer, Brewer's Fayre, Wetherspoons, etc). There was a small selection of hand pulled ales on (Greene King IPA, Abbott and Wells Bombardier) but the IPA I asked for was unavailable. The pub was quiet but the bar service was on the slow side and when the food arrived it was ok but the onion rings that should have been on the side of my steak were missing. Another member of my group got theirs, so I had to request them to be brought out separately. The food turned up quickly, which was a small bonus. Whilst not necessarily bad, it's nothing to write home about and not somewhere you'd go for a special meal.

3 by Kev Lloyd Review source

Went here because the Red Lion chef was ill so they weren't serving food. The staff were very friendly and the decor is nice and they have quite an extensive gluten free menu. The food (especially pudding) took a long time to arrive despite it not being very full and the main meal was not as good as at the Red Lion which was very disappointing given the significantly higher prices. The small baked potato in particular was overcooked on the outside and near raw on the inside. The portion sizes were also very small. I will stick to the red lion in future.

3 by David Wood Review source

Nice venue for a wedding reception. Bar is well stocked and all staff friendly.
Minor niggle with hotel bedroom in that door lock didn't work properly but otherwise a nice comfortable room.
Food at reception was OK without being fabulous. Chairs in the function room excruciatingly uncomfortable!
Breakfast good but bread on counter was mouldy. Staff attended to it but still a little off.
Overall a good place and could be great with a little more attention to details.

3 by Grant Charman Review source

Went here for my sons 30th Birthday, meal was very enjoyable, staff worked very hard considering there was so few of them, I feel that prices are inflated due to the area, one family member had Sea Bass on rice risotto and cost £16 and it was just that, I think I buy it from Iceland dressed up with potato, lemon and herbs for about £5 and just as much fish

3 by Julie Hickey Review source

A wonderful opportunity in this charming location for a great cosy characterful hub of the community serving excellent fresh hearty food and a great selection of beers.

Opportunity almost entirely missed in bland anonymity.

Only saved from one star by a couple of decently kept cask ales.

2 by Michael Reid Review source

We arrived for a meal and although the food that arrived was nice, it unfortunately arrived nearly 90 minutes after we did. Some of the glasses were dirty as well though this was a minor gripe. To be fair I have been before and it hasn't been long waiting for food, but this time was a disaster.

2 by oli anderton Review source

Attended for a business meeting and found the service here excellent. Our room was spacious with projector and all remotes, cables etc. Water and sweeties procided too. Wi-Fi performed well. We had food brought to the room for breakfast and lunch at a very good standard. I definitely recommend it.

5 by Gareth Shepherd Review source

I stayed here for two night for the Metallica concert at the Genting Area. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Accommodation was very clean and had all the amenities I required. The restaurant was immaculate and food was great too. Can not recommend enough. I'll be back...

5 by Review source

Lovely large rooms, well decorated, slept there very well on a Friday night despite a very busy pub downstairs. Free parking for hotel guests too. Good spread of cereal, toast and juices for an additional 4.99 for breakfast. Staff were attentive and accomodating. Would come back again.

5 by Boulette de Poisson Review source

Lovely bar and restaurant - food is fantastic and service extremely friendly and professional. Pay and display car park available - costs a min. £3 but you get a voucher to re-ckiam at the bar. Nice big outdoor seating area. Looking forward to visiting again - highly recommend.

5 by Patrick McCarron Review source

Great service, very friendly and supportive staff, excellent food and a great English breakfast. If you are looking to stay in an upper end place to stay with authentic English touch look no further. Bathrooms thank good are not English and are really functional and nice.

5 by Alexander-Karl Bauer Review source

Had a midweek lunch, dining room and bar were scattered with diners but still plenty of space. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. Car park pay machine (refundable) was broken but tokens were freely available at the hotel reception.

5 by Stuart Griffiths Review source

Much improved since refurb. More bar space so get served in reasonable time - even on Christmas Eve. The need to hold up the building the only problem so bar staff can hide from you if so inclined - not a problem so far. Drinking area generally seems cosier.

4 by Ian Spencer Review source

Broken beds, not told was being renovated that day, so was woken by the staff dismantling the rooms..... tiny dark bedroom. Disappointed after spending nearly £200 for 2 nights. Unsatisfactory response from the management regarding my complaint

1 by Bryony Smith Review source

Keep your phone close if you book with the Greswold. They took a birthday meal booking for 11 people then left a voicemail cancelling due to a prior commitment. I only picked the voicemail up one hour before we were due. Birthday, ruined!

1 by Review source

Overall a very good and well priced meal. The restaurant area is very spacious and quiet with various seating options. Service was very friendly and the food was good considering the price. The fixed price lunch menu was great value!

4 by Review source

Amazing rooms,spotlessly clean throughout....grear selection of food. Generous breakfast and great staff......especially Sue on reception and Joe barman. Well done.. This is a very nice chef and brewer,best I've ever seen

5 by AL F Review source

We had a great lunchtime meal on a bank holiday Monday. The service was quick and efficient and the server was very friendly. Both meals were tasty and hot. They were good size portions. Would definitely go back.

5 by Sara Newton Review source

Stayed in the larheest suit room available. Had a great stay. Love the atmosphere. Beers good and so is the food.
Rooms clean and tidy even in an old building wich I've found to be an issue before.

5 by Ritchie Cook Review source

Loved this hotel. Food and drink excellent. Let us book in slightly early. Beds were so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning. Bathroom good size. Heating excellent. Would definitely go back

5 by Review source

Went here for lunch with colleagues. I'm on Slimming World and options were limited but the jacket potato I had was nice, not too much cheese. Coffee was Costa branded and service was pleasant.

4 by Review source

Rooms OK. Shower good, heated towel rail a bonus. Breakfasts poor. Don't always have what's on the menu. Toaster should be in a museum. Staff very pleasant and accommodating.

3 by Neil Johnson Review source

The glass of Merlot I had was obviously from a bottle that had been open for some time and I should have returned it to the bar. It was the last measure in the bottle.

1 by Review source

Went for a drink before attending a local restaurant. Really warm and welcoming atmosphere and we decided to go back for a meal on a later date as the menu looked fab.

5 by Carl Sims Review source

Never really been overly impressed with this place. Has potential to be better, they know they can charge high prices given location and clientele but overall average

3 by Gary Sammons Review source

A classy place with good drinks range. Not eaten here recently but recall it was nice. It's fantastic place to start the night of for a midweek couple of drinks

4 by Pete Ames Review source

Fantastic food and great facilities. Comfy beds and washroom facilities. Well maintained outside area and we'll sized function room. Would recommend to anyone.

5 by James King Review source

thanks for the free pen. and free parking. Also clean and excellent facilities and friendly staff who greeted me and didn't just ignore me - which was nice!

5 by Peter Turner Review source

Celebrating the marriage of my lovely Uncle Mike and his new lady Margaret/Meg. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Couldn't ask for more

4 by Review source

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6